Wrapping it up.

Flexibility is key. That was what we were told as we prepared for our trip to Africa. The advice came in handy on Sunday when it was time to do all day camp/club again.

After the rainforest hike, the night before, I had started the beginnings of a cold. My mom told me to bring cold medicine, I thought she was crazy, she wasn’t. I’m so thankful I had the medicine. On Sunday we woke up to Martin telling us that he had not heard from Benson (the man in charge of today) and so had no idea what time we were leaving. A few hours later after hanging out with club kids downstairs, drinking soda, we got a call and were told to go. I was privlidged to be grabbed by Queenter, a local girl, who held my hand without fail the entire walk through the city. She is quiet, and honestly, she didn’t need many words. Her spirit and love for others preceeded her, a sort of aura. Camp/club was the same Sunday as Saturday and because I was feeling under the weather, I sat back more and let little girls play with my hair.

Early Monday morning we left Kakamega for Nairobi. It was hard to say goodbye to the people who had been OUR people for the past week. The people who fed us, laughed with us, welcomed us, taught us, and kept us safe. It was especially hard saying goodbye to those relationships knowing I may never see them again. There is no preparation for that.

We could hardly stay awake on the car ride or airplane ride to Nairobi, because of that Martin made the executive choice to leave us at the hotel that day instead of dragging us to another club. Rest felt incredible and it was needed on all accounts. I caught up on my journaling, took a nap, and then we practiced our food ordering skills at the hotel buffet. Our food was supposed to come 1hr20min later. 1hr20min in Kenya is 3 hours… in case you ever go.

Tuesday was our safari. It was all I imagined, but greener. We took the trip around Lake Nakuru and saw: water buffalo, water bucks, rhinos, zebras, gazelles, impalas, baboons, smaller monkeys, giraffes, and finally what we (literally) prayed for… Lions. Not just lions though, a lion and her cubs. I maaaaaay have cried a little bit. I was so thankful. We got to James’ house around 6pm and hung out with Kenyan YL leaders as they lovingly prepared food for us and filled us in on Eva Luna and other spanish soap operas dubbed over in English.

Wednesday, our last day, was possibly the perfect day. We requested that James (our other host) would take us to the Elephant orphanage. He did us one better. He first took us to the giraffe center where we not only got to feed and pet the giraffes, but we KISSED them as well. Straight from there we went to the elephant orphanage and watched their one hour feeding session. I’m convinced that there is a similarity between baby elephants and dogs, especially when you watch them roll in mud. They were such a joy. From there we went souvenir shopping for loved ones and self. I walked away with salad tongs, earrings, and a skirt. The only thing I couldn’t find were specific sandals that I had seen around on Kenyan… boys. James took us to a cafe where we enjoyed pre american, american food and ICED LATTES!! One of the best I’ve had, it was a good little reminder of what coming home would feel like.

When we got home to James’ guest house, our day wasn’t done. Terri, a female YL leader and student at the university taught us how to make chapatti (our favorite Kenyan food). It was the most bonding experience we had while being there. And it is comforting to know that no matter where you are in the world, women can bond in the kitchen and discuss everything together. Truly bridging the gaps that our cultures create, and being all the better for it. When chapatti was made and James still wasn’t home I mentioned the sandals issue to Terri and she suggested that she and two other leaders take us into town to find them! It was so much fun even though we couldn’t find them ANY WHERE. After giving up on our quest for the leather sandals and heading home… we came across the booth… with the sandal maker. Long story short, he made me custom sandals because they only came in men sizes. Perfect.

The night ended with laughs, pictures, goodbye to Martin, and packing. What we had prepared for all year had come to a close.

Now I sit here in a London flat after 3.5 movies on a long plane ride, ready to go to sleep. A friend from the church I grew up in has been the most gracious of hosts. Listening to the three of us as we decompress and talk about how great pizza and warm showers are. The wrapping up has only begun… if you can wrap up such a trip. And now I’m rethinking my title. There is weight to knowing that there are people in Kenya who pray for Colorado when there are fires because they have friends there. Those Kenyans are now my friends too, who will be there for me in prayer and spirit if ever I need. And they are some of the most incredible people I’ve ever known. They are people that I feel humbled by when I GET to call them friends.

Please pray for our friends as Kakamega is near the Uganda border, and Uganda is currently experiencing an outbreak in ebola. Thankfuly we left unaffected.

Thank you for reading and supporting.

-Courtnie

Leave a comment