How do you blog a rainforest?

The answer is you can’t. I could try, but even pictures don’t do it justice, and a picture is a thousand words. Because I am IN AFRICA… I can’t spend time on a thousand words right now, it wouldn’t be right.

Yesterday we took our first ride on a “boata boata” a motorcycle taxi. It was scary and a little fun. I am thankful for my dad who taught me how to lean on a motorcycle. We bought the water well in down (a giant 1,000 litre tank) tied it onto the top of our vehicle and headed further into the rainforest to a new school.

Setting up the water tank was humbling. There was a sixty year old man named Clement (seriously) who used a rubber tube filled with water to level everything, and string to measure. He did an incredible job instructing us. As weak American girls we were able to dig holes as deep as our arms with a machete and bowl, and hammer nails into wood. For some of the time that the men helped us we picked weeds from the school’s garden, and then Sonny, the director for Kakamega’s rainforest Young Life, had us to his home for lunch. Chipatti is by far my favorite food here and I am determined to learn how to make it before I leave. The best way I can describe it, is a thick tortilla. I’m continually humbled by the people of Kenya. They have seemingly so little (in comparison to what I know) yet live joyously and graciously, excitedly give all that they can in efforts to show appreciation.

We came to serve the people here, and like many endeavours in which you serve others, I find that I am the one learning the life changing lessons, walking away a better person because of THEM.

The vice principal told us how thankful he was for our water project, Martin told us, with tears in his eyes, that they will never forget us because of what we have done for them. Kim, Fiona, and I only look at each other later and say, “What we did for them? We bought a water tank…?” Because we have so much, it IS hard to understand the impact we have on their community. I hope someday that I will be able to process it. I’m just thankful at this time to have the opportunity to serve a people who are so genuinely grateful.

Today we had a camp/club. From 12-5 we helped run and participate in club for the teens in the village outside of the Kakamega rainforest. To sum up the experience… I expected to be sharing knowledge of Young Life with their team when Martin asked us to “encourage them.” What I found was that they taught me what Young Life SHOULD look like. From club, to leaders, to kids, to campaigners, THEY are teaching ME. And so my encouragement to them was exactly that. They are leading these kids to hope and WHOLE heartedly. I prayed over them and asked God that we would send leaders like THEM into the heart of Diablo Valley Young Life.

Then… we went into the rainforest. Like I said… hard to put into words. Monkeys and mist. We walked up the mountain THROUGH the rainforest to get to the top and look DOWN upon it. NO words. Went into a bat cave and acted like a little girl. This world is just incredible and I don’t deserve to be here. One more full day in Kakamega before we head back to Nairobi. One more camp/club and some sugar cane 🙂 Thankful is an understatement.

-Courtnie

Leave a comment