We’re hheeeerreeee!!!!!!

(you just have to imagine me saying it).
To those of you who ever have the opportunity to come to Kakamega Kenya and meet our Young Life friends, DOOOOOO it.  I am humbled by the way they talk about Jesus to their YL friends, surprised by their sense of humor, and absolutely astounded by their love.

This journey is definitely life-changing and I am learning so much about how small the world is– little kids still love to sing and dance, boys still joke crudely, and even roosters still crow (even at inappropriate times).  Even as I write this at 6 pm Kenya time, I can hear the distant cock-a-doodle-do reverberating in the not-so-far distance.

Today we had the chance to paint a gate entrance to a local school where YL does ministry.  We waited around for a very long time (there’s a phrase called TIA which equates to this isn’t America/ this is Africa) and finally got to painting.  During the children’s breaks they came and hung out with us.  We taught them the “peel bananas song” and they sang us their national anthem.  I’m pretty sure we got teased in Swahili MANY times, but we didn’t care… its all in love.  Watching Court and FiFi play soccer in the rain with the older kids was awesome!
You can pray for continued rest, healing for my hand (pretty sure my tendinitis has pinched a nerve and my pinkie and ring finger have been tingling since the plane to Nairobi), and a robust fullness of God to descend upon us as we travel into the rain forest tomorrow.

 

<peace and blessings>

 

1 thought on “We’re hheeeerreeee!!!!!!

  1. Glad you got there safe and sound! Praying for you guys. Sounds like everything is already awesome! You are very loved and very missed.

Leave a comment