One Step at a Time

A few days ago we put in our request for travel dates and cities. This morning my principal gawked about her envy.

As the reality sets in, so does the excitement, so does the anxiety. The anxious feelings are not born of worry but rather the conscious understanding that this trip will change me, and while it is changing me, it will also be changing the girls that I am responsible for. It is a vulnerable feeling to walk into a situation knowing full well that your heart will be different when you come out of it. That is real. And as scary as it is, I’m open to it, excited for it, curious as to what it is going to be.

I’m sending my fundraising letters out today. Asking people to fund anything you do is a humbling experience. I know that I CAN NOT walk into this journey without their help. I know that with their support they are becoming a part of my team and I am humbled by generosity as well as by people’s support.

Flocking has raised a little more than $800. It is still fun, and we have it down to a science. And the funding is great, so is the thrill, but even greater is having the excuse to hang out with my girls and know them better still. To walk through their weeks with them rather than a day every week here and there. My husband said a “who knew” sentence about them the other day while I was sharing with him. And seriously. Humble apparently also comes in the form of, “who knew that 14/15/16 year old girls would become some of your most cherished friends.”

I guess it has already started.

Leave a comment